Watch CBS News

Russia, China strengthen economic ties with developing nations

An economic alliance that includes some U.S. adversaries seeks to expand. Current members of the BRICS economic group are Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa, but more than 40 countries have expressed interest in joining, from democracies like Argentina to autocracies like Iran. Alexandra Sharp, writer of Foreign Policy's World Brief newsletter, joined CBS News to discuss what the expansion may mean for the U.S.
View CBS News In
CBS News App Open
Chrome Safari Continue
Be the first to know
Get browser notifications for breaking news, live events, and exclusive reporting.